The Government of Taiwan yesterday announced visa-free entry for nationals of its diplomatic allies in the Caribbean with immediate effect.

According to Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, this is being done to “demonstrate the closeness between Taiwan and its allies in the Caribbean” and “the principles of mutual benefit and reciprocity”.

With this development, nationals of Belize, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, St Kitts-Nevis, St Lucia, and St Vincent and the Grenadines will be given visa-exempt stays of up to 30 days.

Meanwhile, nationals of El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, and Nicaragua will be granted visa-free stays of up to 90 days.

The Foreign Affairs Ministry in its statement said it is hoped that the change “will lead to an increase in tourism, business, trade, and cultural exchanges at multiple levels.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here