St. Vincent and the Grenadines is among CARICOM Islands that would be benefiting from the CARICOM Development Fund’s (CDF) of US$ 1 million.

The Government of India and the CDF have signed a Contribution Agreement which provides for a grant allocation of US$ 1 million to the CDF’s capital fund.

The agreement was signed earlier this month in Suriname.

India becomes the latest International Development Partner to have established formal ties with the CDF during its Second contribution and subvention cycle, which runs from 2015 to 2020, and this comes on the heels of the recent celebration of the 10th Anniversary of the establishment of the CDF, which became operational in November 2008.

The current Member Countries of the CDF are: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.

These resources will support implementation of the CDF’s mandate to provide financial and technical assistance to disadvantaged countries, regions and sectors within CARICOM.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here