Russia is one of six countries ruled to be in breach of the World Anti-Doping Agency’s codes.

Along with Argentina, Ukraine, Bolivia, Andorra and Israel, it has been deemed “non-compliant” by Wada.

Brazil, Belgium, France, Greece, Mexico and Spain have been placed on a ‘watch list’ and must meet strict conditions by March 2016 or face similar action.

Meanwhile, Kenya has been ordered to explain its doping controls or join those countries under scrutiny. There are 15 Kenyans currently banned for doping by athletics’ governing body the IAAF.