A new Cabinet was sworn in here yesterday, following the December 9th general elections, in which the Unity Labour Party (ULP) secured a fourth consecutive term in office.

During the ceremony at Heritage Square the portfolios of the various government ministers were also made official.

The new Cabinet comprising 11 members is led by Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, National Security, Legal Affairs, Grenadines Affairs and the Public Service-Dr. Ralph E. Gonsalves, with Sir Louis Straker as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Regional Integration.

Several Ministers including Montgomery Daniel; Cecil McKie; Saboto Caesar and Fredrick Stephenson retained their previous portfolios, with Senator Julian Francis being reassigned as Minister of Transport, Works, Urban Development and Local Government.

The new portfolios include Camillio Gonsalves as Minister of Economic Planning, Sustainable Development, Industry, Internal Trade, Information and Labour; St. Clair Jimmy Prince as Minister of Education, National Reconciliation and Ecclesiastical Affairs, and Luke Browne as Minister of Health, Wellness and the Environment.

Debora Charles who has been appointed a Senator will serve as Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Education, National Reconciliation and Ecclesiastical Affairs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here