The New Democratic Party (NDP) hosted its Conference of Delegates, which was phase one of its national convention, yesterday May 27, 2018.

The convention, which is in its 40th year, was held at Democrat House, the party’s headquarters in Kingstown under the theme, “One Nation One People One Vincy”.

The Conference of Delegates which was a closed session was attended by constituency delegates, and members of the Central Committee.

The Conference agenda included reports from the party Chairman –Daniel Cummings, Secretary General – Tyrone James, President – Dr. Godwin Friday, Constitutional amendments and election of officers to the Executive.

Addressing the gathering Chairman Daniel Cummings, told the convention that the NDP remained a strong and viable party because of their continued sacrifices.

The proceedings included a constitutional amendment which created the new position of Deputy Chair.

Following internal election several changes were made to the Executive arm of the party.

The executive now comprises of President – Dr. Godwin Friday; Chair –Daniel Cummings; Deputy Chair – Mr. Glenford Stewart; Vice Presidents –St. Clair Leacock and Rolan Matthews; Secretary General – Tyrone James; Assistant Secretary – Mrs. Doris McIntosh; Public Relations Officer – Lavern King and Treasurer – Horace Williams.

There are five committee members: Jeanie Olliverre; Johann Stewart; Amos Cruickshank; Clemroy Bert Francios and Maurice Horne.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here